Student Activities: Clubs and Organizations

Student Leadership Council

The Student Leadership Council (SLC) is an empowering student-run programming board that represents and promotes the common interests and general welfare of the student body. The Council pledges their commitment, leadership, and collaboration to make a difference here and in the community through the organization and promotion of student activities and campus-wide events. The College will provide the Council with a unique experience to be part of an influential and inclusive community on campus by serving as the voice for students to administration, while also providing leadership development opportunities.

The SLC also oversees and regulates all official BRCC clubs/organizations and their budgets through the Club Budget Review Committee.

Blue Ridge Pass

Want to set yourself apart when applying for college transfer or competing for a job? Campus and community engagement is more important than ever before, and the Blue Ridge Pass program helps you demonstrate your commitment to being an active and engaged college student and citizen.

Blue Ridge Pass

Want to start a new club or student organization?

  1. You need an official dedicated BRCC Faculty/Adjunct/or Staff Advisor.   
  2. Complete a Student Organization Form 
  3. Complete a Funding Request Form- if you need funding for speakers, events, conferences, t-shirts, banners, table cloth, food for meetings 
  4. Complete a Club Budget Report/Request Form, detailing your plan for spending club funds. 
  5. After receiving approval, hold your first meeting! Update your club roster and meeting info in your Club’s folder in the Student Activities Shared Google Drive. Keep this document updated.
  6. Attend SLC meetings 1/mo (we offer 2 meeting times via zoom) and report on your club’s planned activities on and off campus. And, attend and support SLC events throughout the year! 
  7. End of Spring Semester- Advisor must submit Annual Club Report and Request Funding for next semester. 

More information and all club forms can be found on Sharepoint.

Adventure Club

Focused on high adventure and service projects to provide positive and challenging experiences, to have fun, and learn teamwork and leadership.

Contact Bob Young at youngb@brcc.edu or Reid Harris at harrisr@brcc.edu

Beyond the Blue

A Human Services Organization providing BRCC students with information, education, and referral services, as well as, bring awareness about social, emotional and health issues.

Contact Robin Hawks at hawksr@brcc.edu

Biology Club

Fosters the advancement of Biology by connecting students with others in the field. Provides opportunities to give back to the community and increase knowledge.

Contact Dr. Harpreet Panesar at panesarh@brcc.edu or Katy Simpson at simpsonk@brcc.edu

Blue Ridge Christian Fellowship

Bringing together those of the Christian faith to participate in bible study, prayer support and community service.

Contact Seana Powell at powells@brcc.edu, Agnes Rexrode at rexrodea@brcc.edu, Jim Wright at wrightj@brcc.edu, or Bob Zickefoose at zickefooseb@brcc.edu

BRCC Diversity Club

To provide all students the opportunity to grow in understanding and awareness, as well as, celebrate the rich global cultural diversity of BRCC.

Contact Colleen Pendry at pendryc@brcc.edu or Claudia Etchebarne Hernandez at etchebarnehernandezc@brcc.edu

Student Ambassadors Program

Representing Blue Ridge Community College in the most positive light as a volunteer leadership group of students who attend various on and off-campus events.

Contact Claire Richardson at richardsonc@brcc.edu

Collegiate FFA (CFFA)

A satellite chapter of Collegiate FFA at Virginia Tech, promoting leadership, service, and fellowship among students interested in agriculture or ag-related fields.

Contact Susie Shomo at shomos@brcc.edu

Dream, Believe, Achieve Club (DBAC)

Providing opportunities for students of all abilities to foster friendships and serve others.

Contact Marlena Jarboe at jarboem@brcc.edu or Justin Thompson at thompsonj@brcc.edu

Math Haters Club

Providing opportunities to realize the importance of mathematics and its omnipresence in human life. Through club activities enhance student’s critical thinking and problem-solving skills that will prepare them to succeed in all math courses and lead them to a good career path.

Contact Venkatesan Chakrapani at chakrapaniv@brcc.edu

Nursing Connections

A Nursing Program Club, providing a forum for nursing students to discuss emergent issues at monthly faculty meetings and to strengthen bonds among peers.

Contact Dave Urso at ursod@brcc.edu, Yvette Benson at bensony@brcc.edu, or Jane Burgess at burgessj@brcc.edu

Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) International Honor Society

Recognizing and encouraging the academic achievement of two-year college students. Promoting scholarship, developing leadership and service, and cultivates fellowship among qualified students at the College.

Contact Abby Sloan at sloana@brcc.edu or Larry Rasheed at rasheedl@brcc.edu

Prism Club

Seeking to create an open and safe educational environment for people of all genders and sexualities to learn about diversity in their school, community, and the world.

Contact Jessica Martinkosky at martinkoskyj@brcc.edu or EmmaRose Phillips at phillipse@brcc.edu

STEM Club (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math)

Providing students interested in science, engineering, math, and technology with educational opportunities and career information.

Contact Nicole Stephens at stephensn@brcc.edu or Robert Oliver at oliverr@brcc.edu

Veterinary Technology Club

A student chapter of the National Association of Veterinary Technicians in America (NAVTA) and the Virginia Association of Licensed Veterinary Technicians (VALVT), promoting the profession of veterinary technology.

Contact Gail Foley at foleyg@brcc.edu or Donna Hastings at hastingsd@brcc.edu

Contact

Claire Richardson
Student Activities & Rec Center Director
Houff Student Center
Rec Center
M-F: 8:15 am–5:00 pm
(540) 453-2368
CEEB Code #5083