Clubs and Organizations - Student Life | BRCC, Virginia

Student Activities: Clubs and Organizations

Student Government Association

The Student Government Association (SGA) oversees and regulates all official BRCC clubs/organizations and their budgets through the Club Budget Review Committee, which is made up of the Vice President of Finances and Facilities, Dean of Student Services, Student Activities Director, SGA President, SGA Vice President, and two designated club advisors.

SGA

Blue Ridge Pass

Want to set yourself apart when applying for college transfer or competing for a job? Campus and community engagement is more important than ever before, and the Blue Ridge Pass program helps you demonstrate your commitment to being an active and engaged college student and citizen.

Blue Ridge Pass

How to start a Club

If you are interested in starting a student organization:

  • Submit a Student Organization Form for recognition as an established club to the Student Activities Director, stating the purpose of the organization and its goals.
  • The Student Organization Form MUST be approved by the Student Activities Director prior to official club meetings.
  • In order to be considered an official club receiving local budgeted funding, your club MUST have at least six (6) active members on the roster with Emplid # that are meeting and working on behalf of the club.
  • Every club MUST have a full or part time BRCC faculty or staff as their advisor in order to be recognized as an established club.
  • Every club MUST NOT be in conflict with policies of the college or the constitution of the student body.
  • Every club MUST have a representative from their club participating in the Student Government Association (SGA) meetings.
  • Each club shall either elect or select officers to reside over the club. [ Minimum officers: president or co-presidents, secretary, and treasurer (optional)]
  • Every club MUST be open to all members of the student body, however, BRCC reserves the right to restrict the participation of students who have been convicted of a felony or who are listed on the Sex Offender Registry.
  • NO club or organization can use the name of the college to fundraise without the college’s permission AND permission of the Student Activities Office. The college does not assume responsibility for funds until they are submitted to the business office as an official student organization.

Fundraising Policy

Adventure Club

Focused on high adventure and service projects to provide positive and challenging experiences, to have fun, and learn teamwork and leadership.

Contact Bob Young at youngb@brcc.edu or Reid Harris at harrisr@brcc.edu

Beyond the Blue

A Human Services Organization providing BRCC students with information, education, and referral services, as well as, bring awareness about social, emotional and health issues.

Contact Robin Hawks at hawksr@brcc.edu

Biology Club

Fosters the advancement of Biology by connecting students with others in the field. Provides opportunities to give back to the community and increase knowledge.

Contact Dr. Harpreet Panesar at panesarh@brcc.edu or Katy Simpson at simpsonk@brcc.edu

Blue Ridge Christian Fellowship

Bringing together those of the Christian faith to participate in bible study, prayer support and community service.

Contact Seana Powell at powells@brcc.edu, Agnes Rexrode at rexrodea@brcc.edu, Jim Wright at wrightj@brcc.edu, or Bob Zickefoose at zickefooseb@brcc.edu

BRCC Diversity Club

To provide all students the opportunity to grow in understanding and awareness, as well as, celebrate the rich global cultural diversity of BRCC.

Contact Colleen Pendry at pendryc@brcc.edu or Claudia Etchebarne Hernandez at etchebarnehernandezc@brcc.edu

Student Ambassadors Program

Representing Blue Ridge Community College in the most positive light as a volunteer leadership group of students who attend various on and off-campus events.

Contact Latoya Garrison at garrisonl@brcc.edu

Collegiate FFA (CFFA)

A satellite chapter of Collegiate FFA at Virginia Tech, promoting leadership, service, and fellowship among students interested in agriculture or ag-related fields.

Contact Susie Shomo at shomos@brcc.edu

Dream, Believe, Achieve Club (DBAC)

Providing opportunities for students of all abilities to foster friendships and serve others.

Contact Marlena Jarboe at jarboem@brcc.edu or Justin Thompson at thompsonj@brcc.edu

Math Haters Club

Providing opportunities to realize the importance of mathematics and its omnipresence in human life. Through club activities enhance student’s critical thinking and problem-solving skills that will prepare them to succeed in all math courses and lead them to a good career path.

Contact Venkatesan Chakrapani at chakrapaniv@brcc.edu

Nursing Connections

A Nursing Program Club, providing a forum for nursing students to discuss emergent issues at monthly faculty meetings and to strengthen bonds among peers.

Contact Dave Urso at ursod@brcc.edu, Yvette Benson at bensony@brcc.edu, or Jane Burgess at burgessj@brcc.edu

Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) International Honor Society

Recognizing and encouraging the academic achievement of two-year college students. Promoting scholarship, developing leadership and service, and cultivates fellowship among qualified students at the College.

Contact Abby Sloan at sloana@brcc.edu or Larry Rasheed at rasheedl@brcc.edu

Prism Club

Seeking to create an open and safe educational environment for people of all genders and sexualities to learn about diversity in their school, community, and the world.

Contact Jessica Martinkosky at martinkoskyj@brcc.edu or EmmaRose Phillips at phillipse@brcc.edu

STEM Club (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math)

Providing students interested in science, engineering, math, and technology with educational opportunities and career information.

Contact Nicole Stephens at stephensn@brcc.edu or Robert Oliver at oliverr@brcc.edu

Veterinary Technology Club

A student chapter of the National Association of Veterinary Technicians in America (NAVTA) and the Virginia Association of Licensed Veterinary Technicians (VALVT), promoting the profession of veterinary technology.

Contact Gail Foley at foleyg@brcc.edu or Donna Hastings at hastingsd@brcc.edu

Contact

Claire Richardson
Student Activities & Rec Center Director
Houff Student Center
Rec Center
M-F: 8:15 am–5:00 pm
(540) 453-2368
CEEB Code #5083