Skip to Content

Student Activities: Clubs and Organizations

Student Leadership Council

The Student Leadership Council (SLC) is an empowering student-run programming board that represents and promotes the common interests and general welfare of the student body. The Council pledges their commitment, leadership, and collaboration to make a difference here and in the community through the organization and promotion of student activities and campus-wide events. The College will provide the Council with a unique experience to be part of an influential and inclusive community on campus by serving as the voice for students to administration, while also providing leadership development opportunities.

The SLC also oversees and regulates all official BRCC clubs/organizations and their budgets through the Club Budget Review Committee.

Blue Ridge Pass

Want to set yourself apart when applying for college transfer or competing for a job? Campus and community engagement is more important than ever before, and the Blue Ridge Pass program helps you demonstrate your commitment to being an active and engaged college student and citizen.

Want to start a new club or student organization?

  1. You need an official dedicated BRCC Faculty/Adjunct/or Staff Advisor.   
  2. Complete a Student Organization Form 
  3. Complete a Funding Request Form- if you need funding for speakers, events, conferences, t-shirts, banners, table cloth, food for meetings 
  4. Complete a Club Budget Report/Request Form, detailing your plan for spending club funds. 
  5. After receiving approval, hold your first meeting! Update your club roster and meeting info in your Club’s folder in the Student Activities Shared Google Drive. Keep this document updated.
  6. Attend SLC meetings 1/mo and report on your club’s planned activities on and off campus. And, attend and support SLC events throughout the year! 
  7. End of Spring Semester- Advisor must submit Annual Club Report and Request Funding for next semester. 

More information and all club forms can be found on Sharepoint.

Adventure Club

Focused on high adventure and service projects to provide positive and challenging experiences, to have fun, and learn teamwork and leadership.

Contact Reid Harris at harrisr@brcc.edu

Animanga Club

A fun and safe environment for those who love anime.

Contact Avie Thacker at thackera@brcc.edu or Amy Jordan at jordana@brcc.edu

Biology Club

Fosters the advancement of Biology by connecting students with others in the field. Provides opportunities to give back to the community and increase knowledge.

Contact Dr. Harpreet Panesar at panesarh@brcc.edu or Katy Simpson at simpsonk@brcc.edu

Blue Ridge Christian Fellowship

Bringing together those of the Christian faith to participate in bible study, prayer support and community service.

Contact Agnes Rexrode at rexrodea@brcc.edu, P.J. Landis at landisp@brcc.edu, Sara Lightner at lightners@brcc.edu, Mark Fitzgerald at fitzgeraldm@brcc.edu, or Bob Zickefoose at zickefooseb@brcc.edu

BRCC Diversity Club

To provide all students the opportunity to grow in understanding and awareness, as well as, celebrate the rich global cultural diversity of BRCC.

Contact Elise Pettie at pettiee@brcc.edu or Shanil Virani at snv83138@email.vccs.edu

Collegiate FFA (CFFA)

A satellite chapter of Collegiate FFA at Virginia Tech, promoting leadership, service, and fellowship among students interested in agriculture or ag-related fields.

Contact Susie Shomo at shomos@brcc.edu

Constituting America Club

A non-partisan club that is committed to teaching the relevancy of the U.S. Constitution and the principles of self-governance inherent in our founding documents. 

Contact Matthew O’Quinn at oquinnm@brcc.edu

Creative Writing Club

Create, write, inspire, give and gain confidence and further improve each other’s writing through critique, encouragement, and experiences. 

Contact Alissa Cruz at cruza@brcc.edu

Dream, Believe, Achieve (DBA) Club

Providing opportunities for students of all abilities to foster friendships and serve others.

Contact Marlena Jarboe at jarboem@brcc.edu or Justin Thompson at jthompson01@rockingham.k12.va.us

Math Haters Club

Providing opportunities to realize the importance of mathematics and its omnipresence in human life. Through club activities enhance student’s critical thinking and problem-solving skills that will prepare them to succeed in all math courses and lead them to a good career path.

Contact Venkatesan Chakrapani at chakrapaniv@brcc.edu

Nursing Connections

A Nursing Program Club, providing a forum for nursing students to discuss emergent issues at monthly faculty meetings and to strengthen bonds among peers.

Contact Yvette Benson at bensony@brcc.edu or Jane Burgess at burgessj@brcc.edu

Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) International Honor Society

Recognizing and encouraging the academic achievement of two-year college students. Promoting scholarship, developing leadership and service, and cultivates fellowship among qualified students at the College.

Contact Abby Sloan at sloana@brcc.edu or Larry Rasheed at rasheedl@brcc.edu

Prism Club

Seeking to create an open and safe educational environment for people of all genders and sexualities to learn about diversity in their school, community, and the world.

Contact Jessica Martinkosky at martinkoskyj@brcc.edu or EmmaRose Phillips at phillipse@brcc.edu

STEM Club

Providing students interested in science, engineering, math, and technology with educational opportunities and career information.

Contact Robert Oliver at oliverr@brcc.edu or Dan OBrien at obriend@brcc.edu

Student Ambassadors Program

Representing Blue Ridge Community College in the most positive light as a volunteer leadership group of students who attend various on and off-campus events.

Contact Claire Richardson at richardsonc@brcc.edu

Veterinary Technology Club

A student chapter of the National Association of Veterinary Technicians in America (NAVTA) and the Virginia Association of Licensed Veterinary Technicians (VALVT), promoting the profession of veterinary technology.

Contact Gail Foley at foleyg@brcc.edu or Stephanie Atkins at atkinss@brcc.edu

Get in Touch

Please complete the form, we are here to help.

Phone
(540) 234-9261
Address
Box 80, One College Lane
Weyers Cave, Virginia 24486

Back to top