Transfer Advisors

Being a transfer program student is a little like dating two people at the same time. You need to meet the requirements of both BRCC and your 4-year transfer school by working closely with advisors from both schools.

BRCC Advisors

BRCC Academic Advisors help you:

  • Select and enroll in a BRCC Transfer Program
  • Register for classes
  • Pick a transfer school and major
  • Understand the transfer process

Transfer School Advisors

Transfer school advisors help you pick the right classes for your intended major.  You are strongly encouraged to meet with a transfer school advisor during your first semester at BRCC.

Transfer Advisor Contact Information By School

Note: JMU, EMU, BC, MBC and ODU have transfer advisors with office hours at BRCC's Weyers Cave campus.

Bridgewater College

Jacqueline Spicer, Transfer Advisor
jspicer@bridgewater.edu
540-828-5469 (BC)
540-453-2513 (BRCC)
BRCC Transfer Center, E112

Christopher Newport University

Jordan Hewett
Transfer Enrollment Coordinator
jordan.hewett@cnu.edu
Phone: 757-594-7156
Fax: 757-594-7711

Eastern Mennonite University

Mallery Erickson, Transfer Advisor
Mallery.Erickson@emu.edu
540-432-4118

Michael Whetzel, RN to BSN Adult Degree Program Advisor
michael.whetzel@emu.edu
540-432-4983

Margo McIntire, Leadership and Organizational Management Adult Degree Program Advisor
mcintirm@emu.edu
540-432-4981

George Mason University

Terri Vanderberg, Transfer Specialist
tvanderb@gmu.edu
703-993-2411
703-993-4622 (fax)
4400 University Drive, MSN 3A4, Fairfax, VA 22030

Hollins University

Mary Ellen Apgar, Admission Counselor & Transfer Coordinator
apgarme2@hollins.edu
540-362-6064
800-456-9595

James Madison University

Kate McDaniel, Transfer Advisor
mcdanikm@jmu.edu
540-568-5205 (JMU)
540-453-2513 (BRCC)
BRCC Transfer Center, E112

Lindsey Richards, Student Success Coordinator
Adult Degree Program
Outreach and Engagement
James Madison University, MSC 6906
127 West Bruce Street, Ice House 331
Harrisonburg, VA 22807
(540) 568-4255
(540) 568-4252 (fax)
richa2lm@jmu.edu

Liberty University

Justin Berry, Application process
jlberry2@liberty.edu 
434-592-3981

Longwood University

Chyanne Trowell
Transfer Admissions Counselor
(434) 395-2879
trowellca@longwood.edu

Lynchburg College

Andrew DeSantis
Associate Director of Admissions
Transfer Coordinator
desantis.a@lynchburg.edu
Phone: 434-544-8305
Fax: 434-544-8653

Mary Baldwin University

Susan L. Schmeissing, Director, BRCC Regional Ctr
sschmeis@marybaldwin.edu
540-453-2345 (BRCC)
540-453-2427
BRCC Campus, Office E112

Old Dominion University

Jennifer Hudson, Assistant Director
brcc@odu.edu
540-234-9345
BRCC Campus, Office A108

Radford University

Opal Merchant
comerchant@radford.edu
540-831-5371
540-831-5038 (fax)
Office of Admissions, Radford University
Martin Hall, P.O. Box 6903, Radford, VA 24142 

Randolph College

Nelson Davis
davis@randolphcollege.edu
434-947-8315         
Office of Admissions
2500 Rivermont Ave, Lynchburg, VA 24503

Shenandoah University

Steven Mangano
smangano11@su.edu

Sweet Briar College

Gloria Simon, Director of Outreach for Non-Traditional Students
gsimon@sbc.edu
434-381-6712

University of Virginia

Olivia Hessing, Senior Admissions Counselor
osh3g@eservices.virginia.edu
434-982-3200
434-982-3200 (fax)
Peabody Hall, McCormick Road, Charlottesville, VA 22903

UVA McIntire School of Commerce (Business)
Jeannine Fields
Assistant Director of Undergraduate Admissions
commerceadmissions@comm.virginia.edu
434-924-3865

UVA School of Continuing & Professional Studies (Adult Degree)
Angie Wilkins, UVA Academic Outreach (Adult Degree)
804-662-7464
anw@eservices.virginia.edu

University of Virginia School of Nursing
Austin Stajduhar
ans6n@virginia.edu
434-924-0066

Virginia Commonwealth University

Philip Wilkerson, Transfer Counselor
plwilkerson@vcu.edu
804-828-1222
804-828-1899 (fax)
821 W. Franklin Street, Richmond, VA 23284-2526

Virginia Tech

Cindy Beatty, CALS Transfer Advisor
540-231-8671
beatty@vt.edu
Jennifer Carr, CALS Transfer Advisor
540-231-8127
jjc@vt.edu
1060 Litton-Reaves Hall
Blacksburg, VA 24061
College of Agriculture and Life Science

Kayla Anders, Assistant Director
keand2@vt.edu
College of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences

Lyndsey Costa, Assistant Director
lcosta@vt.edu
Pamplin College of Business

Gary Jackson, Senior Assistant Director
gjackson@vt.edu
College of Natural Resources and Environment

Kayla St. Clair, Assistant Director
kayla07@vt.edu
College of Architecture and Urban Studies

Chris St. Jean, Assistant Director
astjean@vt.edu
College of Science

Jane Todd, Associate Director for Transfer Initiatives
janetodd@vt.edu
College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
College of Engineering

William and Mary, College of

Whitney M. Link, Senior Assistant Dean of Admission
whitney@wm.edu
757-221-3859