Tracking code for Google Analytics only.

Continuing Education

Licensure Prep & Renewal

Auto Dealers          

The path to Auto Dealer licensure begins with this required two-day preparation for the DMV dealer-operator qualification test.  Existing dealerships can also benefit from this valuable information.

Meets: Tuesday & Wednesday, May 5 & 6, 8:30 am–4 pm; BRCC Plecker Center
Instructor: Peter Iaricci
Fee: $375 (#65014)
Early bird registration – before Apr 21 – only $325 (#65012)

Basic Contractor Business Licensing

Applying for Class A, B, or C licensure with the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation? Fulfill the eight-hour education requirement with this class. Learn statutes and regulations governing contractors in Virginia.  Text included.

Meets: One Saturday, 8 am-5 pm; BRCC Plecker Center
(#56422) Nov 15 (Instructor: Tommy Critzer) OR
(#65005) Feb 21 OR
(#65007) Apr 25
Instructor: Joe Vavala
Fee: $209
For additional information regarding licensure, exams, or other regulatory procedures visit the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation website or call (804) 367-8500. Note: Effective April 1, 2014, the Board of Contractors provides training once a year in Richmond for contractors required to complete remediation training; this 8-hour Basic Contractor Business Licensing course will no longer be accepted by DPOR for remediation training.   

Class A Contractor Licensing Exam Preparation NEW

This 10-hour course will guide you through the challenges of passing the Virginia Class A contractor’s licensing examination.  The course covers actual sample problems used throughout the exam on topics including general management practices, legal, structural, safety & general construction knowledge. The course ends with each student taking a timed sample examination which will be graded at the end. This class does not guarantee you’ll pass the exam as each students testing skill sets vary. Required text: Virginia Contractor Class A & Class B Practice Exam, by Robert Gregory (ISBN-13: 978-1419503894), available at the BRCC bookstore.
Meets: Five Thursdays, Feb 19-Mar 26, (no class on Mar 12), 6-8 pm; BRCC Plecker Center
Instructor: Joe Vavala                       
Fee: $199 (#65450)

State Board of Contractors: Tradesman Continuing Education

In Virginia, electricians, plumbers, and mechanical tradesman are required to attend three hours of continuing education and gasfitters are required to attend a one-hour session for license renewal. All classes are held at the BRCC Plecker Center.

Electrical License Renewal

Meets: One Saturday, 9 am – noon
(#56412) Nov 15
(#64690) Jan 31 OR
(#64961) Apr 11 OR
Instructor: Tom Ward
Fee: $125

HVAC License Renewal

Meets: One Saturday, 8-11 am
(#56933) Nov 8
(#64998) Feb 7 OR
(#65000) Apr 11 OR
Instructor: Fred Eberly
Fee: $125

GasFitter License Renewal Class

Meets: One Thursday, 5:45-6:45 pm
(#56416) Nov 20
(#64990) Feb 5 OR
(#64998) Apr 9 OR
Instructor: Bill Groce
Fee: $65

Plumbing License Renewal Class

Meets: One Thursday, 6:45-9:45 pm
(#56419) Nov 20
(#64964) Feb 5 OR
(#64965) Apr 9 OR
Instructor: Bill Groce
Fee: $125

Online Classes

QuickBooks for Contractors

Learn how the Premier Contractor Edition of QuickBooks can help you create custom contract estimates, track time and materials, generate powerful reports, and maximize efficiencies. 
$99.  Visit ed2go.com/blueridgecc to register.